I haven’t fallen off the earth….I’m costuming

I’ve been silent lately. Sorry. Busy working on costumes for my old school’s musical, EVITA. The piece goes up the third week of March, but I am scurrying around buying clothes at the local thrift stores and on eBay, and making pieces. I also rented some blue blazers from our local university’s costume department, and redoing them to look like 9 dress uniforms. I also converted 9 party store policemen’s hats to dress hats to go with the uniforms. The director and I went to the TDF sale in NYC this summer and picked up a lot of stuff, cheap. They were moving their costumes to Queens, and decided to clear out some of their inventory. So, for $20 a bag, you could stuff as many costumes as you wanted. I went two days and brought a total of 4 bags home on the subway. Really helped us out. Got the 9 pairs of white pants, some military uniforms, a nun’s habit, and a cape we will convert over to a cardinal’s cape (with the additional use of 250 coffee filters for the ruff…don’t ask). Of course everything for the cast of 27 has to be fitted and hemmed, so that is what I am doing. What sustains me while I am sewing is that Murder She Wrote is on during the day with back to back episodes, and nothing makes me happier than watching Angela Lansbury as Jessica Fletcher. Of course, when the original series came out, I thought she was old, and turns out she was younger than I am now…but that’s another story for another day….Back to hemming sleeves….

Leave a Reply

